Tags

, , ,

This post originally appeared on my daughter’s blog site, Woman, Dine and Song. Even though Chelsea is a child of Mr Bibb’s House of Love she says she is a little “creeped out” by the name of our site.  What can I say? But since my recipe for guacamole inspired hers, she has graciously allowed me to repost it here. ~ Mr. Bibb

by Chelsea Bibb, guest blogger

UPDATE: Today is National Guacamole Day!

You know when you find that perfect drink-food pairing and it feels like everything is right in the world? You’re probably thinking margaritas or Coronas at this point due to the picture and guacamole title. But for me – particularly if it involves my grandmother or uncle – making guacamole is synonymous with drinking martinis.

I’m honestly not totally sure how this tradition started (and it started way before it was legal for me to partake) but I do know that it’s one I gladly take part of now when I am in the same town as my uncle. When I last saw my uncle we were both coming off nights of very limited sleep – him due to a lock-in at the school where he teaches and me due to a friend’s wedding and all the festivities that involved. So, suffice it to say, we were both feeling a bit rough and decided that the perfect solution to our problems was to make some guacamole at, like, 3 p.m.

The problem was that his brother-in-law was coming over to have dinner with us and is privy to our guacamole making tradition. But he came after we’d already made a batch, so of course we had to make another round (or two) of guacamole so that Joe wouldn’t feel left out. And because we are so nice, we decided to call Grams to tell her about what she was missing.  It’s a son and granddaughter’s duty, really.

Anyway, back to the guacamole.  It is one of those foods that is really personal. Everybody has their favorite guacamole and it seems like everyone’s way of making it is different. I can’t tell you how many arguments I’ve heard about how to make guacamole – with or without tomatoes, smooth or chunky, with or without olive oil, lemon or lime, it goes on and on. I’m actually really not that picky. As far as guacamole goes, I’m pretty much good with anything that involves avocado.

That being said, my dad, the Skipper, who always calls it Guaca-caca since it is more along the lines of a fresh salsa-guacamole mix, inspired this recipe. His pronunciation, I’m sure, has nothing to do with his inability to pronounce any word in a foreign language, or a language other than Southern. Many people have told me they love this guacamole but I’ve also heard, “I prefer it smooth.” or “Guacamole should not have tomatoes.” But if it helps you naysayers, think of it as an avocado salad that you happen to eat on chips.  Like guacamole.

This guacamole is super easy to make – no special tools needed other than a knife, cutting board, and spoon. And this guacamole is delicious as a topping for chicken, on burgers, on salad, or eating straight out of the container with a spoon (I told you I really like avocados).  I also highly recommend consuming one of these with it. Mi padre introduced me and my sister to this over Father’s Day weekend (he had me at “coconut rum and tequila”).

Guacamole

adapted from the SkipperIngredients for guacamole

  • 2 medium size ripe avocados
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 onion (I used white because I have onion haters around but red is really preferable)
  • 1 jalapeño
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Handful of cilantro, chopped
  • Salt

1. Dice tomato, onion, jalapeño and throw in mixing bowl.

2. Dice avocado. I do this by cutting avocado in half and dicing while still in the skin.

avocado Remove with large spoon straight into bowl with other ingredients.

3. Squeeze lime over avocado to prevent browning. Add cilantro and salt. Mix all ingredients together.

4. Serve with chips and martinis – or however you like it!

Tortilla chip dipped in guacamole

