Tags

, , , , , ,

GumboMr. Bibb and I listen to Jimmy Buffett a lot. Like, a whole lot. We both have Sirius/XM Radio in our cars and we have found Radio Margaritaville to be the most compatible, consistent and reliable station for keeping us both entertained at the same time while we are on the road.

Yesterday as we were driving home from Asheville, North Carolina, Jimmy’s song “I Will Play for Gumbo” struck me like a bolt of inspiration.

 

Must. Make. Gumbo.

So I searched the interwebs for a palatable recipe and sent Mr. Bibb to the store with my shopping list.

I hardly deviated from the original Alton Brown recipe that I used, except I used shrimp without heads because that’s what I had on hand. I forgot to tell Mr. Bibb to buy bay leaves, so I didn’t add those, either.  Other than that, it was fantastic.  I wish I had used shrimp with the heads on so as to make an even more flavorful broth.  I used Aidell’s Andouille Sausage which is easy to find at most mainstream grocery stores.  It adds a spicy bite to the dish.  I recommend it.

So, rather than re-type the recipe, I’m just going to give you the link.

Alton Brown’s Shrimp Gumbo Recipe

Are there any songs that make you hungry when you hear them?

