Tags

, ,

It’s too hot to go outside today, so we’re bringing summer inside.

To continue our series, How to Use Home Grown California Lemons, we are baking lemon bars today.  Again, I am using the lemons from my friend Debbie’s tree that I brought home after my visit to California.

I searched the interwebs for good lemon bar recipes and there is no shortage, let me tell you.  I decided to pass up the fancy ones on the cable cooking channel sites in favor of a plain and simple recipe from AmericanProfile.com where my friend Sherry serves as digital content editor.  I discovered it on Pinterest. One thing that sets the American Profile lemon bar recipe page apart from the rest is the accompanying list of wine pairings for lemon bars.  Can’t get any more American than that!

Another thing about American Profile is that they publish great recipes from their readers.  Ms. Tillie B. Vaughan from Victorville, California submitted this recipe.  Knowing what I know about Victorville, I can just about guarantee you that Miss Tille has a lemon tree in her backyard.

Lemon BarsLemon bars

  • 2  cups plus 4 tablespoons all-purpose flour, divided

  • 1  cup butter or margarine, softened

  • 1/2  cup powdered sugar

  • 4  eggs

  • 2  cups sugar

  • 2/3  cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 4 lemons)

  • 1  tablespoon grated lemon rind

  • 1  teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine 2 cups flour with butter and confectioners’ sugar in a 13-by-9 baking pan. Mix together with a fork and press firmly into bottom of pan.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes until lightly done but not browned.

Beat eggs with mixer. Add sugar; blend well. Add lemon juice and lemon rind; beat well. Add baking powder and remaining flour; beat well. Pour over hot crust; do not let it cool. Bake 20 to 25 minutes.

Let cool to room temperature and sprinkle top with additional powdered sugar (if you don’t have a sifter, put a spoonful of the sugar in a metal strainer and shake it over the bars before cutting).

Serve with your favored wine paring.  I recommend sparkling wine with a twist of home grown California lemon.

